Simply Me

By Suze981

8 mile

8 mile is my running total for this week. I know there are times when I've run more than 3 times that in one day, but this is what recovery looks like.

Monday - 1 mile
Wednesday - 2 miles
Friday - 2 miles
Sunday - 3 miles

I'm trying to take it slow. I'm trying to be good.

I thought my first couple of runs back were going to be hell - the podiatrist warned that there might be some hip, knee and ankle pain as my legs recalibrate. And there has been a little - not when I'm running, but afterwards; you can tell I've been using my muscles in a slightly different way. I've had some rubbing on the inserts too, but so far no blisters, so that's a positive.

But that's all easily managed. It feels so good to be back out there. I can feel my body getting stronger each time I go out. Today's run is already a massive improvement on Monday's run.

I thought it'd be hard to re-find my routine, but that's the thing, you always make time for the things you love.

This picture was taken on Abercorn Avenue during my run.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.