todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Track 1, side 1..

I am fortunate to be involved with a local community radio station. It allows me to indulge in one of my passions - playing music I love and waxing lyrical about it.

Along with two chums, we present a show that lets us do just that, whilst tenuously sticking to a different theme each time.

In our latest show we presented some of our favourite songs that were track 1, side 1 from vinyl albums.

What fun I had, going through my old vinyl and choosing songs that immediately conjured up a sense of time and place.

A band I loved in my youth were the original incarnation of Ultravox. Fronted by the magnificent John Foxx, they were avant garde, edgy, interesting and effortlessly straddled punk, new wave and New Romanticism all at once.

Ofcourse, my analysis of their place in the musical storytelling of the late 70s came much later - at the time I just knew I loved them.

How smart we think we become with age...

and they still sound brilliant

Today outof10? An avant garde 8 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.