THE BUTTERFLY WAS RESTING

in the sunlight that only came after 4 pm. She was resting and I had intended to do that too this day. I think I am incorrigible. I only wanted to paint the rolling kitchencart that I use for our music installation for the second time, but since I had a bit paint left I considered to use that paint for the dull yellow doors of the cupboard into the same limettes green. And so came from the one thing another and again not a quiet day.
When the sun came out in the late afternoon Piet Hein and I went for a walk along the Weser and there she was waiting the lovely blue butterfly.
On our walk back she still was there, still enjoying the soft sunlight.
There were several white butterflies too, but they were nervous, flying busily around.
We had walked to Würgassen and back and we always think it is not a very long walk, but we were glad to arrive home at six pm.

I like to show here a haiku written by Basho, the japanese poet and diarist:

Wake, butterfly -
it's late, we've miles
to go together

Our truth was that we walked miles, but the butterfly was so much wiser, she simply stayed at her safe place.

And the proverb:

I have lost all and found myself.

1639 in J. Clarke, in Paroemiologia Anglo-Latina.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.