Sense of Purpose

By brainfreeze

Thanks, I guess...

The local newspaper Karjalainen offers a free month-long "trial" period for students. I've taken advantage of the offer every autumn while getting the sticker for the new academic year on my student card (the sticker indicates that the card is valid).

This year, however, on two or three days a week, usually on the weekends, they've delivered me issues of Helsingin Sanomat (nicknamed "Hesari"), the largest morning paper in Finland.

Even though "Hesari" is focused more on the Helsinki metropolitan area (which isn't even near where I live) in its local reportage, I don't really mind this, as I still get at least as comprehensive overview on all the important global and national news, plus a lot more articles (the weekend issues often have over 100 pages) than I'd get with Karjalainen, which I can read at my parents' place or at my training place. It just seems a bit odd for a newspaper to deliver issues of a different newspaper on their trial period. Perhaps they've made a deal with Hesari or they have excess issues of Hesari lying somewhere with a shortage of their own paper...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.