Fragile

"Clouds of insects danced and buzzed in the golden autumn light, and the air was full of the piping of the song-birds. Long, glinting dragonflies shot across the path, or hung tremulous with gauzy wings and gleaming bodies"

I went walking this afternoon when the twins were skating, it was a beautiful warm autumnal afternoon, I went and walked round the reservoirs above Gourock, it is a lovely walk especially on a day like today. I knew there was a chance of dragonflies, but there were hundreds of bees and butterflies but as a happy snapper unfortunately I do not own an macro lens and have to rely on getting the best results I can with what I have. I could see the dragonflies from a short distance away and took my time and approached as quietly and carefully as I could. These fragile creatures were basking in the warmth of the sun but sadly just as I pressed the shutter this one fluttered its beautiful wings and flew off so I was just fortunate to get this frame as it made good its escape from the prying lens of the blundering blipper.

The quote I opened with was from Arthur Conan Doyle, I dont know how I came to remember it but regardless it seemed to describe my walk today.

I wish I was better at taking such shots but I hope you can enjoy the shot such as it is

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.