Inverculain

By Inverculain

Hoo's yer doos? (*)

Today I visited Findlater, a ruined castle (abandoned in ~1602) dramatically built into the cliff top between Cullen and Sandend. It's an amazing place, though these days it's not safe to climb inside the castle itself. (Last time I went in must have been 15+ years ago, and I did slip but didn't do any damage. A friend seriously hurt his leg there a couple of years ago though. But I'd love to explore the interior again some day!)

In the fields above there's a 16th century doocot (dovecote), probably associated with the castle. This is a shot of the interior, looking up. It has nesting boxes for approximately 700 birds.

For most of my visit the sky was grey and featureless, but as I walked back towards Barnyards of Findlater, the farm where I'd left my car, it got a bit more interesting!

More pictures of the castle and the doocot here.

* A common greeting in North-East Scotland. I have no idea why we enquire about each other's pigeons!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.