Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Pucker Up

We had brunch at Kern's Kitchen, the same place we went to last night. I had more food than I could comfortably eat, although it was so good I was tempted to overindulge.

After sleeping ten hours last night and drinking three cups of coffee at brunch, I thought I might not need an afternoon nap, but managed to sleep for an hour -- it was getting hot outside, and mad dogs and Englishmen..... OK, I'm Welsh, but never mind!

We walked to Cascade Brewing Barrel House later, a brew pub specializing in complex, tart, barrel-aged beers. The four samples in the photo -- right to left, in the recommended tasting order -- are rhubarb, strawberry, apricot, and kriek (sour cherry). We tasted two others. One had been aged in cabernet and bourbon barrels, the other in Pinot noir and Cabernet barrels. They all tasted good to me!

The max. temperature was only 84F/29C today, but it felt a lot warmer when it was time to return to our cottage. We thankfully took advantage of Portland's excellent bus network.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.