Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Convergence

A slightly fraught day, Kit woke up screaming in pain and unable to move her neck/shoulders/head. Probably a trapped nerve but rather worrying as she's getting a lot of spine related pain recently and I can't help but wonder if I've bequeathed her my shitty spine genes. Mind you by the time I was her age I had already slipped a couple of discs and developed sciatica so she's ahead of the curve! Anyway I navigated the quagmire that is our GP surgery's procedure for actually talking to a doctor and got her anti-inflammatories and pain killers, propped her into a semi comfortable position and rushed off to my final session at the Nuffield pain control physio. On emerging from the hospital I was surprised to find I was still not cured. Spent the afternoon revisiting a favourite BBC drama from the seventies "The Devil's Crown" courtesy of You Tube, rather dated perhaps but it was the series that started my life long interest in Henry II and the Angevin Empire and my admiration of Brian Cox as an actor. Coincidentally he turned up on Blip last week, stopping to let a blipper take his picture while out campaigning for the Yes campaign in his native Dundee, he'd also taken the Channel 4 News crew that were following him to a local food bank to demonstrate what this shower of s£;t are doing to people. So nice when people you like turn out to agree with you. Damn, even this stream of consciousness has inevitably ended up at the Referendum, now I'm pissed off again. So here, gratuitously is a link to a rather good speech Mr Cox gave at the festival last month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.