ameeraj

By ameeraj

Happy 20th old F.R.I.E.N.D.(S)

Met up with a potential tandem partner this evening.

We had good chats. She was nice. Was good to actually speak German again, not on whatsapp or fb message ;), and socially, out of an academic context.

Friends turned 20 today. It was iconic, and personal and it's nice that there are these moments in your own life you can relate to an episode or a line. I'm a bigger fan of the earlier seasons, and they're not going to be more relevant than in the next few years of my life. But I remember watching it, not yet 12, and feeling guilty because of the age rating.

But when I watch re-runs now it's clearer just how many LBGTQ offensive jokes it had. I guess you could place sitcoms on a timeline for the stereotypes they perpetuate, despite their being progressive in some aspects. A chat with Rahul made me look at The Big Bang Theory differently.

I unintentionally dressed quite nineties. Or maybe it's just my wardrobe now. Kitted out in a scrunchie, high waisted jeans and t-bar espadrilles. Lyds and Amy would have approved I think. ;p

Dedicate this post to Bexu. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.