mildishly upwise

When I finish a day in an oddly positive, pleased-feeling and go-getting mood I often notice the next morning that the mood has disappeared to be replaced with my more customary reticence and cautiousness. Hopefully there'll still be a little bit of achievement floating about tomorrow morning to build on. Being properly-sleeped will help, hence the relative shortness of this.

Of course, one advantage of a tendency for keenness to reduce over time is that excessive keenness can be detrimental; when unnaturally enthused I sometimes find myself doing despicable things like almost speaking over the top of people and butting-in, though as I get more used to encountering rare instances of speaking to people about subjects about which I am enthusiastic I shall hopefully become better at spotting this before it happens. A good way of achieving this during a meeting in which one is participating appears to be to be the person recording the minutes in the absence of the appointed secretary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.