Majestic Mam Tor

I drove over to The Dark Peak today to walk around Castleton. I've walked past Peveril Castle and 3 show caves - Blue John Mine, Treak Cliff Cavern and Speedwell Cavern. All caves I've visited years ago.

From where I took this shot, the views across the valley towards Mam Tor, Back Tor, Hollins Cross and Lose Hill are dramatic. Unfortunately, today it was a little hazy and cloudy at times. It was a case of waiting for the sun to break through the clouds to get some light on the valley.

Again, it was really warm. So an ice cream and a coffee were the treats I went for once I got back to Castleton.

I think it was the annual school geography trip day. There were scores of school children around both primary and secondary - armed with maps and clipboards. It takes me back to my own school geography trips - many, many years ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.