By Himself

By Himself

Head of a Gaul

Trip to the city of Cork today.

I stopped off in the Crawford Gallery where there is an exhibition by a contemporary artist. Some of the work was visually interesting but I became so infuriated by the curatorial art-speak crap in the leaflet that I made my way downstairs to the sculpture court where there are white plaster casts of classical pieces.

The light was flooding through a high window and I took several nice shots of white limbs bathed in dramatic light, but this one resonated with me because I have been reading a book about Celtic civilisation in Europe before the Romans. I can recommend it if you are interested in a fresh view of pre-Roman Europe because the Romans get the credit for a lot of what was already there, and had been for hundreds of years.

Some more from today (Herself prefers this one of Teucer's bare bum), but I like this sad, strong face better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.