Only A Rose...

Only a rose I give you,
Only a song dying away,
Only a smile to keep in memory,
Until we meet another day.
Only a rose to whisper,
Blushing as roses do,
I bring along a smile or a song,
Only a rose for you.

This lovely old song from 'The Vagabond King' was a favourite of my mother's. She would play it on the piano and my dad would sing it to her. Apart from me, we were a musical family. With mum on the piano, dad played accordion, brothers played guitar and mandolin and my sister, who sang in an opera group, also played piano. I tried the piano, but I found it difficult to reach an octave as my hand span was too small, anyway, I preferred to dance. I remember we had a record of Mario Lanza singing the song, but I was more into rock 'n' roll in those days !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.