Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Crossmyloof, 1913

Very interesting to get a sight of this street plan, dated 1913. An area I know so well, having lived on the southside for over thirty years. I thought this would interest some of my local "Blip followers".

I didn't realise there had been an Ice Rink at Crossmyloof for as long as that. A bit of research, and I find it was the first indoor ice rink in Scotland, opening in 1907. I skated there in the 1970s. It closed in 1986, and became a Safeway, now Morrisons supermarket. I also didn't know about all the Allotments, and the Lilybank Curling Ponds. Open areas in Strathbungo, and where Shawlands Academy now lies.

Right up to date, and a lovely Kitchen Session link from Graeme Duffin and Esther O'Connor today - People Get Ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.