Tonight's chariot

I have managed to secure a wee job driving the minibus for Borders College one, sometimes two, nights a week. I take the catering students home after they have served the public at their restaurant. I had seven kids tonight ( plus a lecturer in Reflexology whose car had failed to start) and dropped four in Selkirk, two (plus the lecturer) in Hawick and the last girl at a farm in the arse end middle of nowhere near a place called Hermitage.

Now, last year I read a bit of a scary book based in and around a building here which is "an awesome, eerie ruin, set in a lonely spot, Hermitage Castle has a history filled with intrigue, murder, trysts, torture and treason." according to Historic Scotland who own it. All I could think about as I drove for miles along a single track road with passing places in the pitch dark was this book and all its gruesome characters.

I was really glad to get back to Hawick and civilisation, if Hawick can ever be described as civilised! By the time I was back at the College and had the bus parked it was getting close to midnight so it really had to be tonight's blip.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.