One click at a time

By KeithKnight

On Tour - Antwerp

Yesterday was my last day at the conference (it continues for a further couple of days, but I now normally only do 2 days), so we (I have my son with me on tour) headed to Antwerp.

I managed to choose a day that was a No Vehicles day in the city centre, so we were walking everywhere (in fact, we probably would have done that anyway). A little wander round and then we headed to the MAS, a new museum in the docks area. It is certainly a different design (it's supposedly based on a stack of museum storage boxes), and as you get higher up you get good views over the city. I did go to the very top where there are holes in the safety glass so that you can put a camera through for uninterrupted views, but preferred this one of the guy in his wheelchair enjoying the view through the crinkly windows.
After that we went to the museum of photography, which had a number of exhibitions on, one by Walker Evans, who was very derogatory about colour, despite having done a great deal of it (mostly commercial, so I guess it paid the bills). Among the other exhibitions was one on WW1 and the influence and use of photography, including some of the staged war shots and the darkroom compositing that was done to produce many of the action shots without getting near to the front lines for the official images. There were also collections of Stereoscopic pictures and other pictures taken by the troops (even though cameras were forbidden).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.