The Dude Abides

Say hello to the large katydid who took up residence on the handle of a shovel by our front porch. I don't know if it is male or female, but I sort of started thinking of it as "the Dude." I don't know why.

We first spotted the Dude on Monday. He was still there on Tuesday morning, when I took this shot. (His mouth was open. It looked like he really had something to SAY.) By Tuesday evening, he was gone. I guess he just dropped in to see what condition our condition was in.

I suspect that he's not really gone, but that he's still out there somewhere. After all, that's what the Dude does; the Dude abides. I don't know about you but I take comfort in that.

The soundtrack: Kenny Rogers and the First Edition, Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In). From The Big Lebowski soundtrack. :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.