how it is

By flashmaggie

Beauty of Bath

Another tree picture, this time one in my garden.

This old apple tree was here when I moved into my house about 26 years ago. A similar tree in a neighbour's garden was blown down by the wind in the great storm of 1987. This one moved a bit, but stayed upright-ish. Since then, it's become half rotten, hollow down one side, and is covered with a vigorous clematis that I planted a few years ago - I'm not sure whether the tree is supporting the clematis, or the other way around. In early summer, the clematis looks wonderful.

I enjoy hearing the birds settling down for the night at dusk. They roost in the clematis, and there's a lot of bird chatter while they settle down.

I like shady places like this - you never known what you might find lurking there. A family of pheasants often scuttle for cover here when they hear me opening the back door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.