A Suffolk Eye

By CroPage

Birthday - no cake

My mother and I had our usual lunch at the Fitzwilliam Museum and therefore had no room for cake by the time we got to Fitzbillies for coffee.

Which was a shame on two fronts:

Firstly, where else for cake but Fitzbillies?

and, secondly, when else for cake but your birthday?

And it was my mother's 89th that we were celebrating.

"We can have coffee in Fitzbillies' garden, " she said cheerfully.

"Fitzbillies don't have a garden," I pointed out.

"O, I'm certain they do," she said.

But when we arrived, she was bound to admit that I was right. (Fitzbillies have never had a garden as far as I know and recall.)

"So where was the place I was thinking of?" she asks me plaintively.

My mother is a great one for asking difficult-to-answer questions

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.