Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

A Big Organ

I had a meeting at Huddersfield Town Hall which finished at lunchtime. I took the opportunity to have a quick look in the concert hall and blip the 1860 "Father Willis" Organ.

The organ was originally built for an exhibition hall in Newport, South Wales, and was bought for the then "new" Huddersfield Town Hall on the advice of Sir Walter Parrat who gave the opening recital in 1881.

The organ has been rebuilt several times, most recently in 1980. Apparently these organs don't like dry summers. In such times, the bits inside need to be kept humid using must sprays and water.

Spent most of the day in the office :(

Need another holiday.

Thanks to everyone for their comments on Saturday's blip of the Red Arrows. For the first time ever I hit the spotlight.

I took this photo on my phone as my compact camera is wrecked. New Canon Powershot due to arrive tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.