Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Memorial...

Another picture from my trip to Warrington. This is Lt. Colonel McCarthy O'Leary. I don't know anything about him but I imagine he had an Irish connection somewhere. He's actually part of the town's Boer War memorial which is in Queen's Gardens in Palmyra Square. War memorials and graves are having a makeover all over the country at the moment as we are having events to mark the beginning of WWI. It was this ones turn today it seems.

I have done a little digging on the Internet and have discovered that Lt. Colonel McCarthy O'Leary was a local man and was in the South Lancashire Regiment. Warrington was a Lancashire town in those days and not a Cheshire one as it is now. Always an uncomfortable fit I've thought for Warrington and Cheshire. He died in the Boer War at the Battle of Pieter's Hill in 1900.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.