September Selfie no. 25

Last time I blipped this at work you couldn't see me at all, this time you can certainly see me.

Oddly the distorted image you see probably isn't far off from the way I see myself.

Just home, 22:30, as it was the silver service dinner for this weeks course. It was ok, leek and wensleydale tart, although I do wish that they didn't do pastry as a solid hard case that you don't want to risk you teeth on, then it was slow braised rib of beef for main, with 'roast' potatoes, which really weren't crispy, some vegetables, carrots, mange toute and cauliflower, followed by lemon delice, coffee and truffles. Not sure why but the waiting staff seemed to disappear and were a bit too long between serving the main course and clearing it.

Now I sound very critical but when I know that the meal is costing £40 per head plus alcohol I find it very difficult to accept anything that is substandard in my eyes. I'm sure the catering staff hate it when I attend dinners. I don't attend the usual evening meals (£32) as I prefer to go home so they only really see me here.

Everyone else seemed happy but maybe that was because they were drinking!

Conversation was okay at the table I was on, a bit serious at times but generally okay. It can be difficult sometimes on a table of ten when they aren't very outgoing and you have to push the conversation along.

I intend to work a short day tomorrow, just because I can, nothing to do with new wool turning up for a baby blanket that I am knitting :-) .......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.