Bulldozia

By bulldozia

Forest Pitch Revisited

We were driving on the A699 after dropping off V's daughter at a friend's house, when I realized we must be close to the site of Forest Pitch, an intriguing football-art event I'd been to see two years before - and the subject of this blip.

The pitch was specially built in the woods for this one event, and I knew the idea was to let the trees gradually reclaim the space over the coming decades. Saplings would be planted along the touchline and pitch markings, but otherwise the site would evolve without further human intervention.

We turned off up a track and, sure enough, through gaps in the trees we could see a clearing. And here it is. They had planted more trees than I thought were originally planned, which disappointed me, but the place certainly felt unusual, if not haunted by the pleasures of a day two summer's ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.