Snooty Beauty

Rather superior and a little bit snooty if I may say so, as she looked down her nose at me today. Conversely however she does look rather contented as she satiates herself on the nectar. Beautifully marked with a scarlet band on her hind wing along with a soft and almost velvety underside. I just love her frilly wing edges that just add to her appeal.

I am going to go down fighting when it comes to finding butterflies to post in my journal and I make no apologies for it as their time will come to an end soon enough now. So stepping outside this lunchtime I was delighted to see not just one but three red admiral butterflies on the variegated ivy on the pergola. I have really no idea why I like them so very much but I do. Maybe it's because they are so colourful, dainty, tiny or a just a cheerful reminder of summer ...whatever. I haven't got bored with chasing them round the countryside trying to get a shot either. Ha ha you readers of my journal may be thinking it'll be autumn soon thankfully :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.