An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Bench and Tree, after Sunset

Weather forecast was well dodgy today, at least with lots of cloud, but it ended up really nice, warm (for the time of year) and a wonderful glow in the western sky after sunset.

LARGE

I've kept the foreground on the dark side, here, sickly pale and false HDRs done by some others are not what I like!

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

I'm glad that this endearing and attractive scene and landscape is as far from the DERELICT THURSDAY challenge as is possible!

Thanks to ALL who entered - 49 in total, an increase in number from the first week.

Because I was somewhat tired after my marathon day-trip to Brighton yesterday, I was able to sit and spend time to comment on all, or, very nearly all, the entries. I might not be able to do this normally, we'll see, but I still will be awarding my Favourite and a Runner Up.

This week's Favourite is Life of D's 'Fading'. His image matches superb black and white excellence, a dramatic low angle and a couple of wonderfully placed figures. So many once significant old buildings in our High Streets are just boarded up ruins so that makes it emotional too.

Runner Up is Four Seasoned's 'On Tilt'. This beautiful mono is a work of art, taking its subject and against a soft and light background, really brings out the best of something that is 'derelict'.

Do have a look for yourselves! The full list can be found in yesterday's Blip.

Believe it or not, I had to disqualify two for being posted on the wrong days. I did argue that Mono Monday Challenge isn't on a Tuesday and therefore, Derelict Thursday can't be on a Friday!

My aim is for folk to purposefully Blip something derelict for the challenge and not simply add the tag afterwards if and when they find their blip might be possibly, vaguely, connected. I shan't and obviously cannot stop people doing this but the Challenge is about finding the subject and reacting accordingly.

I might be Blipping Live Music tomorrow. Whatever you do this weekend, I hope and trust that it's an enjoyable one!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.