The lady is for turning

I've had a busy day today. What I like about life is that when you get up in the morning, you think you have it all planned out, but unexpected things always happen. Sometimes not so good (like falling off the bike and breaking bones) but usually good things. Nearly always good things.
Early morning saw me on my last stint as egg chef at the Dumfries Northwest bike breakfasts. This flowed seamlessly into cooking for the Free Meals Project with Rosie. We made veg chilli and cooked down a huge amount of tomatoes for the freezer. On to college, to borrow camera equipment and then I was off to deliver Dunscore Digests.
One of my visits was to Janet and Bill Johnstone. Bill has a catering van and I wanted to take some photos of him at work, but then we got talking about his other business, which is wood turning. Bill and his friend Ian run Burnhead Woodturners. They do demonstrations and run teaching days as well as taking commissions and selling equipment and tools. I wanted to see Bill's workshop and he was kind enough to show me the whole process of making a bowl from a piece of sycamore. He gave me the bowl to keep, too. What I really liked about it was that he had filled a small imperfection in the wood with gold powder and made a beautiful feature of it. There's wisdom in that, isn't there.
Thank you, Bill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.