The Way I See Things

By JDO

Eglise Saint-Joseph, Waterloo

We went to Waterloo so that I could take a look at the field where my 3-times great-grandfather nearly died during the charge of the Scots Greys in 1815. Overall it was a slightly odd experience - as much as anything because it's not all that easy to get to the battlefield unless you're travelling by car. However, much building work is taking place at the north end of the site, so I fully expect that by the bicentenary there will be a new visitor centre offering an exciting "Waterloo experience".

The town of Waterloo, which is about 5km from the battlefield, has an interesting museum in what used to be the inn - which is where Wellington and his staff were based before and after the battle. Some fascinating exhibits, including Lord Uxbridge's artificial leg, and a good audio guide. The church over the road is rather lovely, and houses a number of poignant memorials to British officers who died during the battle.

I had the Mono Monday challenge in mind when I photographed the organ - I really don't know why I did so much processing to try to make it look like an old photograph, because the original was sold off - this one is relatively new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.