Orchid99

By orchid99

Madeira landslides and tragedy

Yesterday and earlier in the week I have shown glorioius holiday photos of Funchal, a true paradise on earth. I mentioned the rains but nobody was prepared for the horrendous situation that is currently unfolding

I have used as a blip the screencap I took from local TV. We are in the hotel, heeding the red alert saying nobody should venture out, watching as they show the roads we walked along and places we know and love. Huge red rivers have swept down the hill and along the front by the marina

Tragically, there are deaths already reported and the numbers are rising.

I have photos of my own but they show dramatic waves none of the destruction and I have put the stormy shots on Twitter

my own pics

This is a cruel reminder of the climate change and the dramatic impact on wonderful people who do not deserve any of this.

Pray for the people of Madeira

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.