Tutto bene

By Blackdrake

Sweetheart

I wonder which soldier's sweetheart this trench art brooch was made for.
When I hold it I try to think of the journey it has had. First, it would have started out as some metal object...bullet or mortar casing probably. I didn't get the Army Book and the brooch together though so no clues there.
I'm having to round some stuff up to list on Ebay, been meaning to do it for a while but have now had a surge in motivation due to rather dire financial forecasts! It's not cheap having hubby work and live down south, on less wages, while we're up here still. Very unsatisfactory situation just getting more difficult sadly. So time to get busy selling.
I can't sell the Soldier's book though. I checked online, new reproduction copies sell for three times more than the original. ..how sad. I'd rather find the family it belongs to and give it to them, however since I bought it in auction I'm guessing whoever had it was the end of the line.

So John George Suggett of Whitby who left his wife Alice and his job as Master Baker to enlist at Scarborough on 4th January 1940 will remain a mystery that I'll hang on to.

Ciao

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.