Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Clown face, Plaza Mayor.

It's hard to occupy yourself in a public place when you are on your own, I find.

Today, for instance, I was meeting up with a fellow travel blogger to swap ideas. We agreed to meet by a statue in a square. I arrived a little early having set off with enough time incase I got lost, despite it being a walk straight up a street directly opposite my flat.

I chose this square because it's usually pretty quiet. It's surrounded by cafes, too, which is handy. But today was some sort of childrenfest. To get to the statue I had to wade through this mass of tiny humans. I'm not great with children either, I'd shake the hand of a newborn if it was introduced to me.

What was worse was the fact that I was apparently the only man there without a child. Maybe I could rent one from the face-painting stall, I thought. I had no option but to just stand there like a great, big, freaky lurch with my camera, peering around the crowd looking for someone who I had never met before. I was met with curious glances from the crowd, who invited this guy?

"just act normal, tap your foot to the music, no don't it'll look weird, like you're trying to blend in with the tiny crowd, people will question your motives, maybe move to the other side of the statue to mix it up, never stay in the same place for too long, I think that's a saying? Is it, actually? Or did I just make it up? Its pretty swish, like an analogy for my life, I suppose, haha you're so lame, good job you're not saying this out loud, wait am I?! Phew no, ha for a second there I thought I'd given myself away"

Not that I have anything to give away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.