Brotographer

By Brotographer

Anthology

The evolution of my primary camera, since 2006.

2006-2008 : Casio Exilim, compact camera.
- The birth of photography for me, and a birthday present from my family while out near Tarifa, Spain. Primarily used to take photos of cows and my dog, as well as my family halfway through mouthfuls of food. The good old years.

2008-2011 : Nikon something something, bridge camera.
- Another birthday present, this time while in Corsica. This period of photography was plagued by a love-hate relationship with my camera, so I proceeded to steal as often as possible other people's DSLRs. The bridge infamously met its end when it fell two metres from the top of a door onto its lens, halfway through a self-timed photo.

2011-2014 : Nikon D5100, DSLR camera.
- Finally, I graduated to the world of DSLRs properly and got to enjoy breaking out this baby while out in Ireland camping. Subsequently, it traveled with me all over the world, from China to Uganda, receiving a very thorough and thought-through beat-up. It also saw its fair share of spilt drinks and sweaty encounters while working in nightclubs. It's survived these years, but it was time to move on.

2014-____ : Fuji X100S, mirrorless rangefinder.
- The next stage of photography, which I did not know existed until recently. I first got attracted to this camera because I believed it could rekindle my passion for all things photography, which has recently been dwindling slowly in a spiral of non-creativity and general disinterest in carrying my camera around with me. After carrying the X100S around with me all summer, from Istanbul to Slovakia and back to Corsica, it's been a beautiful approximation.


So there you go, my range of cameras over the past almost 10 years. Honorable mentions go out to my Pentax ME Super film camera, my Kodak Brownie and especially to my 70-200 lens, which in itself is probably worth more than all my cameras combined.

peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.