Peahen

By Peahen

Celebrate!

We were very privileged to attend our friends' joint 60th birthday (hers) and 40th wedding anniversary (theirs) party last night, and the celebrations continued this morning. It's last night I'm going to tell you about, with the blip taken this morning, as frankly they deserve better than my photos from last night.

Last night was memorable for so many wonderful reasons. His speech, her speech, her brilliant and belting rendition of "You make me feel so young" to a completely stunned and thrilled him. Clearly 40 years of marriage has not diminished her ability to spring a stonking good surprise. Soon after they, as well as every single guest, were moved and delighted by their three adult children singing a beautifully harmonised and keyboard-accompanied version of "We've only just begun". I was very grateful for my waterproof mascara. Apparently Carpenter sing-alongs were a regular feature of their family caravan holidays.

I have had a truly wonderful time at many weddings and partnership ceremonies. It was something else however to be part of a celebration of 40 years of marriage, to celebrate love enduring and growing over and through all that life and time brings us. Congratulations!

ps I had to back-blip yesterday's blip, click back one shot for sci fi flowers on the tow path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.