Heathland Crab spider

The weather was really lovely today, both warm and bright, and a great chance to do some end of season insect hunting at Iping common.
I was hoping to see some fungi, but it is so dry the season seems to be very late this year.......I did see one Fly agaric, but I also found some other goodies, so the fungi will have to wait!
I took my sweep net with me, and managed to sweep some lovely grasshoppers, and shield bugs but the best thing was this little spider Philodromus histrio.
It is usually found on heathland (which Iping common is), and adults occur mainly in May and June, although we swept it in September last year.
It is recorded as generally rare and very local but appears to be quite frequent on Iping common
Some good moths in my trap last night, so maybe one will make my blip tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.