Dunston Scarecrow Festival.

Today Lincoln Warrior and I took a drive out to the village of Dunston (after a cheeky lunch in KFC!!) to walk round and photograph their annual scarecrow festival.

Dunston is a beautiful village, absolutely idyllic! However I would not like to live there. I don't drive and it doesn't have any shops, pubs, take-aways etc. whatsoever! Not one! And I don't drive, so I would be stuck! I don't even think its bus service is that great! Not a place to run out of milk at 9 o'clock at night!

Anyway, the theme for the festival this year was WW1, and village life at that time. It was hard to choose a Blip as I took loads of shots. Some of the scarecrows were very good but had very tenuous links to the theme. (Or no link at all -e.g. the Pirates of the Caribbean one!) Others fit the theme but were not scarecrows! They looked more like elaborate bonfire Guys! So I chose this one, which is a proper scarecrow, and is about the way people of the day were encouraged to grow as much of their own produce as possible - Dig For Victory!

Anyway - I also came up with the BRILLIANT idea that if we go next year, we should dress as scarecrows!!!

Had intended on catching up with ironing today but as we must have walked around 10 miles, it is not going to happen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.