WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

The Stretcher

We went to the Peak District today and met Dave there. I went for a walk with CJ along Stanage Edge to Higgar Tor, down to Hathersage and back up through the North Lees estate to Stanage.

The weather was beautiful. The views were delightful.

As I returned back up to the crag, Rich and Dave were about to start the last route of the day.

Both of them seriously complained on the route. Although this is often part and parcel of rock climbing, the combination of Rich being at full stretch, both of them saying it was tricky and Dave uttering a few choice words made me not so enthusiastic.

I needed some serious encouragement to follow them up but somehow I found myself on the end of the rope... At full stretch and beyond. I need to keep reminding my joints that it was vaguely enjoyable.

The guidebook was clear.
"For an easy route, it's not very easy."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.