Peter Bourne

By notowennewitt

transporter

"... Sail on silvergirl,
Sail on by.
Your time has come to shine.
All your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine.
If you need a friend
I'm sailing right behind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind ..."


'Bridge over troubled water' by Simon & Garfunkel

This is Newport's Transporter Bridge, one of only six bridges of its type remaining in the World.

When taking this picture, I have been able to exorcise a forty-five year old demon; all that time ago, my Father attempted to take my younger brothers & I up one of its 242ft towers, with the aim of walking along the elevated walkway - half way up, & we screamed to go back down!?! This time I did it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.