Anonymoose

By Anonymoose

S..E..C..C

I hadn't been to the SECC for a gig in about 15 years.

Hall 4 really is a barn of a place with shockingly poor acoustics and the stage really feels far away (not that that would necessarily have changed over time).

However - did note that phone cams have replaced lighters as the MOR audience-artist interaction device of choice. (We were fairly surprised to see people being told to sit down by the wee people in yellow jackets. Fair enough if they were standing the whole time in front of someone - but it's a bit of a wet blanket for the odd moment of exuberance.)

Paul Simon - What can I say? A good (if predictable) foray into his impressive back catalogue. 3 encores sealed with a "god you guys have really touched me" (and this time I mean it) and the requisite drum solo in the middle (2 drummers). Glad we went - but I think the venue wasn't right for a lot of reasons - and I think I'll stick with the LPs I nicked off me mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.