Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Mist and Cloud, Weston Park

A quick visit up to Weston Park before work, mainly to see how the autumn colours were developing. I had stayed away for a couple of weeks while the game fair was set up and removed.

To get there I drive west along the A5 so was continually checking the rear view and wing mirros to guage the dawn light. I briefly stopped on the way as I thought I was going to miss the best of the light but glad I changed my mind and drove on. The light coniditons changed significantly over the hour I was there as you can see if you check out other images on my Flickr pages.

I had headed out towards New Park Pool as I was still trying to capture images across the main parkland. I would have loved to be further into the centre of the park when this light briefly developed.

Technical: a 5 shot HDR (1 stop separation), This allows the tonal quality to be enhanced above that possible from a single image. I try very hard to control my HDRs, which have an undeserved reputation for being garish and unnatural. I've used HDR Efex Pro 2 from Nik Software with my own custom settings, based on the Bright preset. It's nearly always necessary to reduce saturation. Although ghosting reduction was switched on the movement of clouds and leaves has softened the scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.