gennepher

By gennepher

Dragonflies...

I took the dog for a walk in the woods today. Or rather I got out of car and saw a big tree trunk by a stagnant looking set of pools of water. The sun was out and it was a lovely day. And I sat on the fallen tree trunk.

Then I realized there were dragonflies. All around. Electric blue ones and furry black ones. I only have the Nexus so was unable to get any photos mid air. The dragonflies were circling me, circling each other in a twosome dance, especially the massive electric blue dragonflies. So I stayed on the tree trunk and watch. Dog didn't get much of a walk. She simply lay down and enjoyed the sun.

Finally one of the furry black dragonflies sat next to me on the tree trunk. So I took my Nexus back out of my bag and took quite a few photos getting closer and closer. This was the closest I could get. I sat over a couple of hours in "fairyland".

Then I packed Nexus back in my bag. Got my crutches. Dog lead in one hand and began to walk back to the car. Then the furry black dragonfly flew on to my hand and looked at me. It stayed on my hand for over five minutes. Then it lifted its two front legs in the nameste sign _/\_ and held them there.

This was my extraordinarily special day.

But just as I finished writing this, something has happened and it looks like a sad ending in something different and I feel powerless to do anything...I am sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.