Maggie17

By Maggie17

One Thousand Gifts: My Saving Grace

We've always had dogs growing up, never cats. My allergies would kick up so bad that it was never a choice to own one UNTIL my daughter bought her first and only cat while we were away for the weekend. Once home, I was determined the cat would have to leave but agreed to wait one week while she was at camp. That's all it took to fall madly in love with "Charlie". And because we bathed him as a kitten in Head and Shoulders, my allergies were manageable. Charlie has since disappeared (a neighbor took him - he was killing her birds). I was heartbroken. THEN ONE DAY, my husband and I happened to venture into a pet store looking for a goldfish bowl and found a litter of barn cats for sale. Little Kit Kat was climbing on top if his brother meowing nonstop. Since then, Kit has been my saving grace. He is the sweetest cat ever! He is a constant reminder to stop and enjoy the moment. If I'm not listening, he will give me little bite. He herds me in the direction he likes. But I love it most when he curls up with and puts his little paw on me like I'm his stuffed toy. If I'm sad or worried or scared, he is always there to reassure me he has my back. :). I thank God, I have my saving grace!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.