Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Extended depth of field

This is my first attempt at a photomicrography technique known as focus stacking, or extended depth of field. This iridescent beetle was being used by undergradutes for their investigations into naturally occurring nano-structures in our experimental laboratory. I thought it might be interesting to take a look at it under a microscope, so I did just that.

Annoyingly, the camera we had set up to our lab microscope had several dead pixels, so I took the lab's DSLR and mounted it on a tripod and set it up to take shots through the eyepiece, adjusting the focus between shots. I then used the free image manipulation software GIMP to merge three images that were in focus at different heights, producing an extended depth of field.

I didn't realise when I was taking the shots that I didn't quite get the back leg in focus, which annoyed me, but for a first attempt I think it's pretty decent!

Hopefully, I'll do more of these in the future! If you have any requests for subject matter, let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.