@ la martelliere

By Turts99

Bored!

It feels so odd not working on a Wednesday. I'm used to the driving mucking up my internal calendar, getting me to think of Thursdays as Fridays, but covering earlier in the week has made a right old mess of things. I've only not posted a huge "It's the Weekend!" banner on FB because I'm not sure whether it is or not.

I've tried distracting myself. I've finally finished that weighty tome I've been chugging through. It'll be a while before I start another Harkaway novel. I love his style because it's all over the place and my noggin respects and identifies with that. It's just discouraging, when you want to get to the end so very much, to find that it's encouraging you to think really hard about something else instead.

With that out of the way, I took a ride to see one of the (formerly feral) kittens. The wonderful lady looking after them took them into Kirkwall yesterday. The little girl is still there as she needs an operation on her eye. The little boy is back and having drops for an eye infection of his own. We were asked to name them. It's difficult when you don't really know them, but we've settled on Salvo and Lilli.

Cycling home was into one hell of a breeze, so I curtailed my mission to the shops and came home instead. The chap in the photograph was ambling up the driveway. Gail put a bit of cat-food down for him. He nibbled at some of it and then got very territorial about the saucer. We didn't argue and left while we still had all of our fingers.

I'd barely sat down when it started to rain. The reason that that is particularly noteworthy is because there was barely a cloud in the sky at the time. I cannot remember ever seeing a rainbow on a background of a clear blue sky before.

I've now started translating the instructions to the Labyrinth board game that we brought back from Hamburg with us. It is a slow process but progress is being made. I try to imagine a world without scanners, text readers and Google translate, and picture it a world that's only positive is Raquel Welch in a fur bikini.

That's all just about as much excitement as I can deal with. Time to wind down, have dinner and get ready to go out to the pictures tonight. The Screen Machine arrived on the island yesterday and they're showing 'Pride'.

Busy! Busy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.