Cake!

As no one was in the office on my birthday in August, I promised Darren that I would bring in a cake this week, while the boss is in Cape Town. Not that she would stop us from having cake and coffee but it is a bit more relaxed without her.

I have gone back to basics for this cake to my 1972-3 Stork Cookery book that is falling apart. My school friend Liz lived in Tiptree and her mum worked for Tiptree Press. As we were starting cookery she gave us a rejected cookery book each. The book was rejected because the pages hadn't been cut properly which meant that once we had used a sharp knife to cut the pages it was fine.

I can't bear to part with it and hope that it stays with me as I lost Liz to breast cancer back in 1994 aged 33. Losing her was the reason I started going to gigs on my own and returned to college and then to University, I felt as though I had to do more with my life. It was all I could do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.