Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

This little piggy.......

Forty years ago this month I was told I was to lose my job. The finance company that I worked for were closing the 'customer facing' side of the business that I worked in to concentrate on the commercial side where finance was sold through stores, dealerships etc. I wasn't too upset; I only worked for them for four months in total but was paid for six, and with the extra two months they paid me I bought shares in the company and sold them for twice as much as I paid a few weeks later! They were also the most miserable four months of my working life. Not because of the job itself which was OK, but because in an office of only five people one lady a few years older than me decided from Day One that she didn't like me and was going to make my life hell. Apparently I'd replaced a man that she was rather sweet on! I then started a new job elsewhere and have been lucky enough to have never had a day out of work in my working life.

When we closed the office everything was just going to be thrown out, so we rescued a few things; folders, a brief case, pens and most importantly, these piggy banks! It's now the proud repository for all my £2 coins, and it's surprising how quickly they mount up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.