Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Glory, Glory......

Hallelujah!

Finally I can breath again!! I have a sense that I held my breath for at least five minutes and I didn't dare move. I perched myself upstairs at about 4.45pm and set myself up with a very clear view of the bird baths and opened the window. I was in my hide!! - both CCN and I were on the lookout.

First of all you can hear them. They really do sound like a creaky door. C'mon, you're teasing me now. And then they came. They swooped into the scribbly gum and then one by one came floating down like feathers to the bird baths. (I had filled them to the brim in the morning). Gang Gangs are truly the most beautiful birds. I feel quite emotional as I type my journal as I know just how blessed we are to have them come and visit us the way they do.

I had never seen a Gang Gang until I lived at Wombat Hollow and I know there are hundreds of thousands of Australians who have probably never heard of them.

Thanks to my blip buddy Beckett
I was set up with a much higher shutter speed tonight so there was more clarity in my images. They do tend to come as the light is fading as well, so they don't make it easy for us.

I really hope you enjoy my blip tonight as much as I enjoyed being a part of their fantastic ritual. I definitely encourage you to view the LARGE version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.