analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

The Thick & The Dead. GX1, Leitz Telyt-V 200mm.

I had some time for Blipping this gray and rainy afternoon and decided to head back to Mt. Auburn Cemetery. After walking around Mary Baker Eddy's tomb (founder of the Church of Christ, Scientist) for half an hour and not spotting a living critter other than the groundsmen, I decided to do a loop of the cemetery by car. My technique is to drive at a walking pace with both front windows rolled down and the camera with big lens at the ready. This method yielded a family of wild turkeys settling in for the night amongst some tomb stones. I watched them for another half hour during which time they barely moved at all other than to shuffle their feathers and preen with their backs to me. At a certain point, all the groundsmen in their miniature (and noisy) trucks started driving by me on the way back to their depot. I was hoping that this would scare the turkeys into some kind of extraordinary activity, but nothing. Looking at the miniscule size of that cranium in relation to the massive body and legs I reached the conclusion that turkeys must be some of the stupidest birds on the planet! Not only that, but devoid of personality, and ugly to boot. Cousins of the vultures, I believe. So, as a sequel to my last Blipping adventure in Mt. Auburn Cemetery (here), I propose the above title for this image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.