Crucible

This is a crucible of burning borax and a blob of copper. My son was attempting to melt the copper, but he didn’t get it hot enough to pour. More information needed. He would be happy to receive advice and suggestions in his journal. I like the way the hot stuff reflected the underside of the porch roof and grapevine.

We had a spectacular electrical storm. Usually the lightening is on the other side of the clouds, but today we saw great jagged lines and patterns against the dark sky. The thunder was very loud and exciting. Then the hail started. My daughter and I rushed out to cover my little pak choi and lettuce plants, which was just as well. Although the hailstones were not large, they were very dense. It was all over in half an hour, but the temperature has dropped several degrees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.