Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Converse

Today has gone a bit wrong. It all started with a massive traffic queue to get into town as I was taking the Wonderspouse to the bus. He got out and walked and I slithered home in the car.

He called an hour later to say the bus hadn't left yet, then another hour later to say he was a few miles down the road, then a further hour later to say he'd finally got to work but the roads were terrible and I shouldn't go out.

I spent a frustrating hour listening to my psychiatrist's secretary's answering machine before finally getting through to cancel my appointment, which will have to be rearranged. I then cursed the weather for a bit and retired to the sofa with my blanket and TV remote.

I had just given up on blipping anything of any significance and was about to take a photo of the kettle in desperation, when there was a knock at the door and a delivery driver brought me a package - the pair of Converse All Stars that I'd ordered a little while ago!!!

Converse are favourites of mine, very comfy and seem to fit my feet just perfectly every time. Getting a new pair means I can now throw away the really worn out old Kickers that have fallen to pieces.

So now the snow, which caused so much havoc and wrecked today's plans to go to my appointment then have a little walk round town, has gone. I feel bored and listless because I've been stuck indoors all day, but, on the bright side, I have new shoes.

I was going to get purple ones for my next pair, but went for these instead. I like the little coloured flecky bits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.