Hero

'Ayup me old!' he said, his kind, all knowing voice broke into my day like a blast of sunshine and I knew that I had found a rock to lean on.

'Hey,' I replied, having never actually said hey before and finding myself in awe of this 11 year old giant in front of me.

'Martin says you're going to Yorke Street next month?' he asks, friendliness all over his face as though he has known me all my short life.

'Yep,' I manage, 'big school,' I stutter further, my childish need to hold on to my primary school betrayed.

'It'll be great youth!' he says, 'and best of all, I'm there! I start when you do!'

'You do?!' I say, not understanding how he is not several years ahead of little me.

'I do! We're the same age! What's your name?' he asks, so kind, so easy.

'Scotty,' I say, looking past the older boy to my younger friend behind him to make sure I'm OK.

'Well I'm Gam,' he says, stepping forward to pat me on the shoulder, 'and Scotty, don't worry about a thing, we are going to be the best of friends.'

And we were.

The best of friends.

Love you Paul. Always in my heart. Rest in peace.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.