CanonEyes

By CanonEyes

This is gonna have to stop.

They started charging us for water on Wednesday. It started raining today. Lashing rain. The forecast is for 40 mm over the next 24 hours. I think they are rubbing our noses in it.
We are subject to a standard charge of 400 euro a year for the first nine months after which we will be charged for our usage according to our water meters, which we haven't got yet. I have been checking the taps. Quite a few of them are dripping. I'll have to put my plumbers hat on and fix that lot.
As I write, the radio News is reporting on a very vocal protest in a nearby parish. Folk are a bit peed off.
As an aside, I am reminded of my favourite cryptic crossword clue. It featured in the Crosaire crossword in The Irish Times, a notoriously difficult puzzle.
The clue was ....
I....N
The answer was water.
Can you figure out why?
I did, which is why it is my favourite. I was the only one of the lunch time crowd in the pub that got it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.